Delete Installation folder: Difference between revisions

From Joomla! Documentation

RCheesley (talk | contribs)
New page: == Deleting the installation folder == You will not be able to browse to your site or administrator portal until you delete your administrator folder. The reason for this is mainly due t...
 
Batch1211 (talk | contribs)
No edit summary
Line 1: Line 1:
== Deleting the installation folder ==
== Deleting the installation folder ==
You will not be able to browse to your site or administrator portal until you delete your administrator folder.  The reason for this is mainly due to security - if someone can access your installation folder they could potentially overwrite your site by running the installer again.
You will not be able to browse to your site or administrator portal until you delete your administrator folder.  The reason for this is mainly due to security - if someone can access your installation folder they could potentially overwrite your site by running the installer again.


To delete your installation folder manually, use an FTP client and right click on the folder named "installation" and press Delete.  As this removes the entire folder and its contents, it may take a couple of minutes to complete.  Some components such as Akeeba Backup offer you the opportunity to execute this process by clicking a link, which effectively deletes this folder using certain commands.
To delete your installation folder manually, use an FTP client and right click on the folder named "installation" and press Delete.  As this removes the entire folder and its contents, it may take a couple of minutes to complete.  Some components such as Akeeba Backup offer you the opportunity to execute this process by clicking a link, which effectively deletes this folder using certain commands.
[[Category:Tutorials]][[Category:Installation]]

Revision as of 13:07, 20 September 2010

Deleting the installation folder

You will not be able to browse to your site or administrator portal until you delete your administrator folder. The reason for this is mainly due to security - if someone can access your installation folder they could potentially overwrite your site by running the installer again.

To delete your installation folder manually, use an FTP client and right click on the folder named "installation" and press Delete. As this removes the entire folder and its contents, it may take a couple of minutes to complete. Some components such as Akeeba Backup offer you the opportunity to execute this process by clicking a link, which effectively deletes this folder using certain commands.